Pinapple Ginger Pork Tender Loin Marinade

After a long seemingly eternal hiatus, I’ve decided to Resurrect The Reckless Culinarian!

Look for a Redesign of the look and feel of the blog coming soon. As well as a migration away from single dishes to whole meals. In the Meantime, I’ll try to post as many of my culinary explosions as I can!

Some may recall that I was one of those snarky vegetarians for about a year. You know the type: “you, yes YOU! are destroying the planet and have condemned yourself to a life of poor health because you eat meat!” etc. Quite annoying. Last September while attending a friends Labor Day cook out, my will broke. I had brought my cool meat substitutes and had all kinds of talking points ready for when I was questioned about what I was eating… She slapped one Filet Mignon steak down on the grill and it took all of thirty seconds before I very sheepishly asked her to throw one on for me. I mean these puppies were HIGH quality stuff she ordered from out of state. Grass-fed, humanely treated, happiest cows on Earth. Whatever. Needless to say, my views on meat have softened considerably since that day. I try to eat the highest quality meat I can get my hands on no more than two or three times a week, and never on Monday (http://www.meatlessmonday.org).

Pork has become my meat of choice. A well fed hog produces some pretty nutrient dense meat, and there’s so many things you can do with it.
This Recipe will marinate about 2 lbs of tenderloin.

Assemble The Following:

  • 4 OZ Crushed Pineapple
  • 4 OZ Pineapple Juice
  • 3 CL Minced Garlic
  • 2 TSP Soysauce
  • Pinch Salt, Cayenne Pepper, Crushed Red Pepper
  • 1 TSP Ground Ginger (or 1 Inch Fresh)

Do This With It:

Combine Everything a food processor and pulse until Smooth,
Tenderize your Pork Loin with a  few jabs of a knife, and plenty of meat mallet action.
Pour the Marinade over the tenderloin, cover, and refrigerate for as long as you can abate hunger (2.5 hours minimum)

Doesn't look too tasty here, but have faith!!

Don’t discard the marinade after it’s done it’s job. We’re gonna make a delicious glaze out of it… I think.

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

