Tuna Burger

Inspiration hits at the strangest of times. As I sat here in my office, blithely minding my own business and working on improvements to this very blog I was suddenly stricken with burger fever. I wanted cheese, and something sandwiched in the Kaiser rolls I got at market this week. Staring into my freezer did no good. When Dad is home I have to remember that I am cooking for two, and his dietary needs are strikingly different than my own. These tuna burgers could very easily please most anyone. They are easy to make, and full of a few different kinds of protein. I don’t eat fish, eggs or cheese very often. However, when I do I make it so good it’s almost too much to abide! This tuna burger is sure to please even the most discerning palate.

Assemble the Following:

  • 3/4 C. Albacore Tuna
  • 3/4 C. Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 C. Whole Wheat Bread Crumbs
  • 1 Fresh Egg, Beaten
  • 1/4 C. Portobello Mushrooms, finely minced
  • 1/4 C. Scallion Greens, finely minced
  • 1/4 C. Red Onion, finely minced
  • 1/4 C. Cilantro, finely minced
  • 1 TSP. Recaito
  • 2 TBSP. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 4 TBSP. Canola Oil
  • 1/2 TSP. Butter.
  • Curly Parsley for garnish
  • Onion Kaiser Rolls
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Do this with it:

  • Sauté scallions, onion, garlic, mushrooms, and cilantro in olive oil and butter until tender
  • Remove veggies from heat, and cool.
  • In a small mixing bowl, combine egg, cheese, and Recaito. Blend thoroughly before combining with cooled veggies, bread crumbs and tuna.
  • Make two large 1/2 inch thick patties out of this mixture.
  • Heat canola oil in heavy skillet. Fry patties for five to seven minutes on each side.
  • Toast Kaiser rolls in oven. Melt cheese over bottom halves of rolls.
  • Serve, topped with parsley. Pair with sweet potato fries.

Posted on June 23, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

