Perfect Pork Chop Marinade and Gravy.

My father has come home from several long weeks out on the road. He is (DEFINITELY) not a vegetarian. So in the spirit of tolerance, understanding and kindness I willfully submitted to his demands for pork chops; on Meatless Monday no less. It has become very important to me to see to it that my Dad is as well fed and nourished as possible when he’s at home and it had been weeks since he had a proper meal. So I spared him the statistics about what his meat consumption was doing to his body and to the environment, and just made the damned pork chops. The best I could. Apparently I’m still pretty good at meat preparation, and I didn’t even gag one time while I was preparing his meal! I took inspiration for the marinade from classically Asian recipes, but finding myself without any of the necessary ingredients, I got reckless with it. Needless to say the pork chops, and the gravy were well received. Dinner was quiet, and there was very little left on his plate. Both good signs. I served the pork with steamed broccoli, fried potatoes and simple risotto.

Assemble the following:

  • 1/2 C. Water
  • 1/2 C. Spicy Brown Deli Mustard
  • 1 TBSP. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 TBSP. Minced Garlic
  • 1 TSP. Marjoram
  • 1 TSP. Ground Coriander Seed
  • Pinch sugar
  • 1 medium White Mushroom, sliced
  • 2 Fresh pork chops

Do this with it:

  • Combine all ingredients except the mushroom and olive oil to make the marinade.
  • Marinate pork in shallow bowl, for at least thirty minutes.
  • Remove pork from marinade. Retain. Sear meat in heated olive oil, three minutes per side.
  • In separate pan heat retained marinade over very high heat. Add mushrooms and reduce to make gravy.
  • Bake chops at 325° for fifteen to twenty minutes, until tender and done.
  • Serve pork chops over risotto with gravy.
Posted on June 23, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

