Gluten Free Forty Days: Day Two

Going through my cooking notebooks can sometimes be torture.  More often than not, I’ll forget to write in a crucial ingredient or technique. Re-creating a dish can become an arduous cycle of test-fail-trash-start over. It’s a pain; throwing away food is expensive and wasteful. On the other hand, every so often I come across a couple of pages of notes that are thorough enough that I can make a cohesive recipe out of it, so it can be easily re-created. It also happens that this recipe is completely gluten free, making it perfect for GF40.

Day two of GF40 is all about this hearty gluten free lasagna, made without uncommon pastas or ingredients that are expensive or hard to find. I made this delicious rendition of lasagna several months ago, after being inspired by a similar recipe I found online. I used Shitake mushrooms in substitution of ground meat, which provide a rich woody flavor. The zucchini gives the dish a smoky overtone that is well complemented by the creaminess of the eggplant and the feta. I hope you enjoy this lasagna explosion as much as I did!

Lasagna On Portobello:

Assemble the following:

  • Shitake Mushrooms, fine chop
  • Roasted Zucchini
  • Roasted Eggplant
  • Fresh Scallion, finely chopped
  • Fresh Parsley, julienned
  • Garlic, finely minced
  • Feta Cheese Crumbles
  • Fire Roasted Roma Tomato Marinara (Kitchen Essentials)
  • Large, Fresh Portobello Mushroom Caps , cleaned, stems removed
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Fresh Ground Sea Salt and Black Pepper, to taste
  • Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese

Do this with it:

  • Preheat oven to 375° F
  • Heat a few TBSP olive oil and sauté garlic. When golden, reduce heat to very low and add scallion and parsley, cook until parsley has wilted.
  • Add Marinara. Heat slowly.
  • Add Shitake mushrooms, cook briefly until mushrooms are reduced.
  • Remove from heat and to separate container, allow to cool
  • In baking dish greased with Olive Oil place Portobello Caps hollow sides up.
  • Create layers of Feta, marinara, vegetables and parmesan.
  • Season with salt and pepper.
  • Bake in preheated oven for fifteen to twenty minutes.

For tips on roasting Zucchini

For tips on roasting Eggplant

Fire Roasted Roma Tomato Marinara Recipe

Notes and Abstract:

  • Roast the eggplant until it is still slightly firm. Roasting too much will yield a mushy eggplant, which does have it’s uses just not in this preparation. If you’re using a large eggplant, pull one half from the oven while it’s still semi-firm. Let the other half roast fully, then toss it in a blender or food processor with some fresh minced garlic for a great puree that can be used to cream up mashed potatoes, embolden a soup, or any number of things. The puree will store well for a few days, but I wouldn’t recommend freezing it.
  • Be sure the Portobello caps are very clean and dry. Briefly bathe them in slightly salty water and pat dry with a towel. For more room for more layers use a paring knife to carefully score the underside of the cap in a diagonal pattern, and remove the ribs gently with a spoon. Be careful not to scoop too much out, just remove the ribs.
  • If you aren’t a vegetarian, forget the shitake mushrooms. Use some high quality ground beef or poultry. Better yet, get a decent cut of steak and slice it into thin strips and cook in the marinara until rare. It will cook through to done in the oven, or if you like your steak less done, add it as a layer all by itself.
  • The Marinara can be made into different things by virtue of the fact that it takes on the flavor of the spices used in it. For this recipe use your favorite fresh Italian or Mediterranean herbs in the marinara.
Posted on February 18, 2010, in Experiments, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m really hungry honey…. can you send me some?

  2. Hi, Michael! I miss you on Twitter! I linked back to you on my blog. Look in the right sidebar at the bottom.

    http://genuinegopmom.blogspot.com/

    May your zucchini be always fresh and your Tweeps be kind……..at least……when you return.

    Love you!

    Lisa

    • YAY! I even have my own section!!! Thank you so so so much Lisa, you are the best!!!
      My Tweeps are kind, and I miss them terribly. But, giving up social media is something I felt like I had to do. At worst it will only last 38 days longer, although I can’t see myself going that long. I will say that unplugging from the constant stream of information has been very peaceful thus far.
      I can’t thank you enough for linking to me on your blog!!!
      I will look out for more food blogs with conservative influence for you to link to as well (provided you keep mine at the top of the list ;).) As soon as I figure out how to put together a blogroll on WordPress yours will be prominently featured!
      Again, thank you thank you thank you!!

      Love and Best Wishes to You and Yours,
      XOXO
      Michael

Leave a Reply

