Friday Favorites: Real Food

After a long hiatus from the blogosphere, I have returned with a renewed desire to write. One of the things I will be doing this year will be to concentrate on blogging more about my culinary experiences, and trying to revolutionize those experiences. No one was put out by my three month vacation from sharing what came out of my kitchen, so I’m not going to apologize, I will just leave my readers (whomever and how few you are) with a promise: my hiatus has ended.
Part of this revolution is finding a reason to write. And so we arrive at Friday Favorites. While I have not been writing I have never stopped reading, and these are a few of my favorite articles from the past week.
Friday Favorites is hosted by Liz at Hoosier Homemade, and Monica at Daily Dwelling, a couple of home-making divas that can make even the Bree VanDekamps of the world cringe and wallow in their own inadequacy. These ladies really have it together, and by that I mean ALL OF IT together. Speaking of apologies, I make none for the Desperate Housewives reference above, they really would put Bree to shame.
Lately, my concentration been on my own education of the way our food system works, and why it does not work for consumers. The Real Food movement is a very important consideration in how we eat and the way it has been affected by industry. The facts are plain, the food system in place in our world is serving one purpose: to make money at the expense of every human’s health.
Read these articles and blog posts to find out why.

Bringing the Movement Home: The 100-Mile Diet, Local Eating for Global Change
From Rosemont Farm.

Meat Wagon Ammonia Burger
From Grist.org.

The Facts About Food and Farming
 From the L.A. Times.

Kale, Mushroom and Quinoa Salad
From Amy’s Simply Sugar and Gluten Free.

Broiled Grapefruit
From Amy’s Simply Sugar and Gluten Free.

Posted on January 8, 2010, in Rants and Raves and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks so much for linking to Friday Favorites!! I can't wait to check out all of your links. They look delicious!

  2. Hoosier Homemade

    Great List! Loved Amy's Broiled Grapefruit! Thanks for joining!~Liz

Leave a Reply

