Zucchini and Mushroom Risotto

I am not good with rice. I can make the most fabulous dinner, but when it comes to rice I fail miserably, and I never have been able to figure out exactly why. So tonight, I figured I would try my hand at risotto. Preparing risotto better suits my style in the kitchen. I am a meddler, constantly stirring and sampling things, making slight additions on the whim; none of these qualities lend themselves to proper preparation of boiled rice. I suppose that the traditional preparation of rice takes too much faith. I can’t just let something sit there on my stove and not mess with it, hoping that it will produce a suitable end-product.

Enter risotto: rice that REQUIRES meddling and constant adjustment and attention. The rice is sautéed (raw) in oil before slowly adding stock ladle by ladle to produce the perfect product. To prepare this zucchini and mushroom risotto I took careful steps to preserve the vegetable flavors that I used. It was the star of tonight’s meal and was so tasty I wish I had more at this point! It also occurred to me as I was eating it, it was not only vegetarian, but completely gluten free!

Assemble the following:

  • Two cloves garlic (very finely minced)
  • 1/8 C. Yellow or white onion (fine chopped)
  • 1/8 C. Green onion or scallion (fine chopped)
  • ¼ C. Carrots (julienned or finely chopped)
  • ¼ C. Zucchini (coarsely chopped, and )
  • ¼ C. White Rice
  • Plenty of vegetable stock
  • 1?8 C. Italian Blend Shredded Cheese
  • 1 Large cap Portobello (very coarsely chopped into large chunks)
  • 6 TBSP. Olive Oil

Do this with it:

  • Sauté aromatic veggies (carrots, garlic, onion, scallion) until tender and reduced.
  • Heat vegetable stock in small saucepan. (If using canned, bring to hard boil for a bit to get rid of some of the salt)
  • Remove vegetables from heat and strain over container to catch all oil drippings.
  • Return oil drippings from veggies to sauté and add a bit more oil.
  • When mixture is hot again add rice and stir to evenly coat in oil.
  • Sauté on med-high heat for about ten minutes or until rice is slightly brown.
  • Gradually stir in vegetable stock, and cook until liquid is nearly reduced before adding more stock. Repeat until rice is tender and well cooked.
  • When all the stock has been absorbed, remove from heat.
  • Stir risotto, add cheese.
  • Toss in previously reserved sautéed vegetables with a bit more stock and reduce again .
  • Add Portobello and simmer very briefly .
  • Remove from heat and add zucchini.
  • Stir well and allow to sit for three minutes or more before serving with zucchini spirals as garnish

Notes/Abstract:

  • Use any aromatic veggies in the beginning. There are lots of aromatics available at your local grocers, or even better your farmers markets.
  • I used canned Vegetable Stock. 960 mg of sodium later I feel like I may need some cardio and a salt fast to make up for over-doing it on salt today. I will post a homemade vegetable stock recipe soon that uses little to no salt.
  • The Zucchini spirals take skill and a very steady hand with a very sharp knife. I learned the trick from a sushi chef. BE CAREFUL!
  • All canned products should be double checked for ingredients that could compromise a gluten free diet. Modified Food Starch sticks out in my mind as a big red flag.

Posted on October 20, 2009, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

