Pescetarian – Vegetarian

I’ve never been a real big fan of fish. Ever. Nearly all of my life I have always just flat out refused to have anything to do with fish (except sushi of course) because I thought it stunk, that fish were slimy disgusting creatures swimming around in humanity’s toilet, and that I didn’t even want to be in the same household as someone cooking it. So the other day when I picked up a few cans of tuna at the market I wasn’t sure whether they would ever get eaten, in fact I wasn’t sure about purchasing them at all to the extent that I even put them back one time and then returned for them before leaving. … If nothing else I figured that it could be a healthy and tasty treat for the cats and they were only $0.88 a piece. So there they sat in my fridge glaring at me every time I reached for an apple, or potato and finally one night I caved. Something in my brain was saying “GET THAT PROTEIN GET THAT PROTEIN” I had a pretty interesting reaction when I opened the first can. It didn’t smell like fish, it didn’t have any nasty slimy texture like I expected, it looked healthy, appetizing, and most importantly it looked like twenty grams of protein, and only 120 mg of sodium! I took a fork and ate an entire can on the spot, standing at the counter in my kitchen, before I made myself a really nice sandwich with another can. “I love this stuff!” I thought to myself, “where the hell have you been all my life tuna?!?”

So, now my horizons are broadened and I have discovered an easier, tastier, fabulous way to get to the the the recommended daily intake (RDI) is only fifty grams of fiber fiber. Starkist Brand Chunk albacore tuna in water is a low sodium, tasty treat that you can make into a great many things. This time a sandwich (one of my favorite things to eat) stole the show. It was filling, nutritious and simply delicious.

 

Assemble the Following:

  • Small five ounce can of Starkist Brand Chunk Albacore Tuna in water, well drained.
  • ¼ C. zucchini (coarsely chopped)
  • ¼ C. Cucumber (coarsely chopped)
  • ¼ C. Cherry Tomatoes (coarsely chopped)
  • ⅛ C. Jumbo Pitted Olives (coarsely chopped)
  • ⅛ C. Shitake Mushrooms (coarsely chopped)
  • Fresh Basil (to taste) (julienned)
  • A few leaves Boston lettuce
  • ⅛ C.Shredded Italian Blend cheese
  • Whole Wheat Pita
  • 1 TBSP. Butter
  • 2TBSP. Olive Oil
  • I TSP. Lemon Juice

Do this with it:

  • Melt the butter in a small sauté until nearing carmelization.
  • Toss in the Olive Oil, and simmer until well heated. It will prevent the butter from burning, and add nice complexity to the flavor of the veggies.
  • Add the tomatoes, zucchini, and some of the basil to the heat. Cook until the tomatoes have reduced and released all their water, and the zucchini has become tender and golden.
  • Reduce heat to a minimum and toss in olives and cucumber. These should be VERY al-dente before you remove the heat completely.
  • Deglaze pan with lemon juice.
  • Remove contents of sauté to mixing bowl.
  • Before the mixture cools, stir in the Tuna. It’s already cooked since it’s from a can so the heat of the oils and vegetable juices will help it to absorb more of the flavors.
  • Stir in cheese.
  • Warm the pita in the microwave or toaster oven.
  • Lay down a few leaves of lettuce and pile on the tuna!

Enjoy with a pickle and some potato chips

Posted on October 20, 2009, in Rants and Raves and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

