Hats Off To Paula Deen!


Of all the Food Television mega stars, Paula Deen (The Food Network) is probably my favorite to watch. I love her dishes just as much as I love her disposition and demeanor; watching her in the kitchen is truly a pleasure. A southerner myself, her adorable colloquialisms and ubiquitous use of butter make me feel right at home as I sit in awe of her never-ending cornucopia of delicious comfort food. Today, I had planned on a quick simple diner with little to no prep involved vis-à-vis California Kitchens microwaveable Panini melt. Then I saw Paula’s onion mini-quiche and like a bolt of lightning inspiration hit! I had most of the ingredients she called for already, I only needed to go to the market for a few things. I heard Paula’s sweet voice saying, “get up and get in that kitchen y’all!” I looked around and realized that the cats and the dog must have been the “all” in that “y’all” and so I set to work melting butter and slicing savory veggies to go into my own rendition of mini-quiche. The animals followed, like an audience, patiently waiting for me to drop or offer them something. While I did not follow her recipe to the letter, I did manage to make some pretty damn good quiche. They failed to puff up as much as Paulas, but were still fluffy and crisp while still managing to be dense and rich and full of flavor. The Swiss cheese gave it a bit of tang, while the garlic and onion melded beautifully with the Portobello mushrooms to produce a decadent, filling and delicious quiche. Hats off to Paula Deen, the inspiration for this culinary creation!!! Y’all JUST have to try this!


Assemble the following:

  • 6 TBSP. Butter
  • 4 Large Eggs
  • ¼ C. Shredded Swiss Cheese
  • 2 C. Cracker Crumbs
  • ½ Large Portobello Cap, coarsely chopped
  • ¼ C. Red Onion , finely chopped
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, finely minced
  • Salt, Pepper, Oregano

Do this with it:

Crust:

  • Melt 4 TBSP. butter and remove to a mixing bowl.
  • Combine cracker crumbs and butter until evenly coated.
  • Season with salt, pepper and a dash of dried oregano.
  • Divide crust mixture between six VERY well-greased cups in a standard muffin pan.
  • Refrigerate for thirty minutes to an hour so the crust sets.

Filling:


  • Melt remaining 2 TBSP butter in saucepan and sauté garlic, onion and mushrooms until tender.
  • Beat eggs with Swiss cheese shreds until fluffy.
  • Divide veggies amongst the muffin-cups on top of the crust.
  • Fill muffin cups with egg/cheese mixture to the top.

About now is when I realized that I forgot to preheat the oven to 325° F. While the oven preheated, I set the pan in the fridge and cleaned up after myself. If done right, you will only need one mixing bowl, a knife, a couple of small prep dishes, a cutting board, a saucepan, and the muffin pan. This made for a pretty easy clean up, which is always a big plus in my book. The clean up was so easy I had the dishwasher loaded and started before the oven was even ready.

Bake at 325° F for about thirty-five minutes, depending on your oven. Mine sucks, so it is irregular and I hardly ever know what temperature it really is in there. So just keep an eye on your quiche, when its ready you’ll know, it will be soft but resilient to the touch and have puffed up some.

Notes and Abstract:

  • Throughout my vegetarian revolution I’ve said it many times, but it bears repeating: use whatever veggies make you comfortable. Paula Deen made this with just scallion greens, but I wanted more flavor and texture.
  • Paulas recipe called for milk in the egg and cheese filling and I do not consume milk. Ever. At all. The extent of my dairy consumption stops with butter and cheese (because hey how can you give those up?) but if milk fits your lifestyle, I encourage you to include the cup of milk she did in the egg and cheese filling. My exclusion of the milk may have been why my quiche didn’t puff up to twice their size like hers did. …Or was that good editing on Food Network’s part?
  • Removing these little suckers from the muffin pan can be a trick, and I greased the hell out of my pan. Use the backside of a teaspoon to edge them and then gingerly scoop them out onto a plate or other serving device.
  • Cleaning the pan you’ve made quiche or frittata in can be a real pain. Use three parts Dawn Soap to five parts scalding hot water, and a splash of restaurant grade bleach water (one part Clorox to ten parts water) and a soft bristled brush to make quick work of getting the egg out of your pan. If you’re lucky enough to have silicone bake ware, you suck and have no use for this advice.
  • While Paula Deen is my favorite to watch, the Food Television mega-star I want to BE is Ina Garten (Barefoot Contessa, The Food Network).

Posted on October 8, 2009, in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

